Visit the Charterhouse of the Monegros

HOW TO GET

It is located 11 km from Sariñena.

HISTORY OF THE CARTUJA

It was founded by the Counts of Sástago on February 2, 1507 and became the House of the Order of San Bruno in Aragon. It was the first Carthusian monastery founded in the Kingdom of Aragon

The construction of the monastery was carried out between the 16th and 17th centuries, however, the current building is from the 18th century.

It is a moderate or classicist baroque building, marked by its simplicity for most of the dependencies by the marked austerity of the Order and by the lack of material resources, however, in the Church, the sacristy, the cloister, the chapels and the façade is rich in ornaments.

THE PAINTINGS

The painting is by Fray Manuel Bayeu, brother of Ramón and Francisco Bayeu and brother-in-law of Goya, who created 17 canvases on the life of San Bruno for La Cartuja.

BASIC INFORMATION

  • Opening: Saturdays, Sundays and national holidays
  • Guided tours: 11:00 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.
  • Price: free entry
  • Telephone: 974 29 41 00
  • E-mail: visitalacartuja@dphuesca.es

CHARTERHOUSE OF THE MONEGROS

Loading...
Upps!
You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser